Image

Knit one, pearl one, drop one, gain one?

So I have started knitting. It came about after I attended a workshop put on by the UK Hand Knitting Association and I was hooked (is that a knitting pun? I’m not fully ‘down’ with the lingo yet.)

It took me a grand total of 45 minutes to cast on and do two rows – it was a challenge I can say. I have watched my nan knitting away for years and years, quite often witnessing her hands acting purely autonomously as she simultaneously crafted an Aran jumper whilst watching Fifteen To One on the telly, drinking a cup of tea and eating a ham sandwich.

In my case, simply casting on was the hardest thing I’ve had to do for a long while (sad, isn’t it), but I got there, thanks to the help of one (very patient) UK Hand Knitter. A few weeks later and I’m a good fifty-odd rows down. The thing is…(and it really is a  big thing…), I keep losing and gaining stitches and I don’t have the foggiest reason why!

I started my first ever knitting project (a headband, in case you’re wondering) with 15 stitches. Now I’m up to 17, having at one point dropped to 14, then I went back up to 15, then to 16 and now 17. What I’d like to ask the Gods of Knitting is…HOW on earth am I doing this? I’m as slow as a snail and meticulous in my concentration, but somehow, out of what seems like nowhere, my headband is growing wider and wider.

Any ideas, folks? Pinny Girl is in need of your pin-wisdom!

Knitting for beginners

3 thoughts on “Knit one, pearl one, drop one, gain one?

  1. I really recommend watching a youtube channel called very pink knits. She has a tonne of videos covering everything to do with knitting. She also has a video about why and how new knitters lose and gain stitches and very common mistakes.
    I learn to knit from watching this women’s videos… she is amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

