A week with Ainsley Harriott

I’m enjoying the fact I’m giving each of my cookery books their chance to have a moment in the spot light.

Ainsley Harriott’s Low Fat Meals in Minutes proved to add a nice little dimension of difference to our meals this week and I can recommend the recipe that smothers chicken in mustard, lemon, garlic and marjoram then wraps it in filo and bakes it. Very nice.

I’ve got to admit however, that this is the only recipe I’ve managed to try from the book this week, despite there being one on almost every page that I’d like to give a go to. This is, of course, in addition to all the meals I’ve made from the book before (you can tell it’s a well used one, owing to the splatters on many a page). So despite the cover only having been bent back once this week, I feel that it’s had a good innings so far and is enjoying being one of those great books that you can just pull off the shelf and feel inspired by when you’re planning a dinner for friends.

Naturally, all good things must end and so I move on to the next volume of wonder in line on my shelf: Dough by Richard Bertinet (which is right next to Pastry by Richard Bertinet, so I’m being a maverick and combining the two). It’s going to be a good week!

Leave a Reply

